For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

CLOSE UP 2021-2022

Program Committee 2019-2020 from left to right: Marjolein, Zoë, Noah, Jet, Roos, Eva and Thijs

#5.1 A Celebration of Boredom 
Featuring UvA Associate Professor and Program Director of the Master Brain and Cognitive Science Harm Kruger, Associate Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University of Essex Wijand van Tilburg, with a short film by culture expert, video artist and curator Mieke Bal, creator of "UvA Walks" Tim Wagelaar, artist Jessie Hoefnagel and an interactive worskhop by De Kwekerij, the incubator for students and young professionals.

#5.2 Tangible Future 
Featuring postdoctoral researcher at Urban Futures Studio and author of the book 'Imagining Climate Engineering: Dreaming of the Designer Climate' Jeroen Oomen, researcher on Feminist Science Fiction Elio Baldi, creator of the course 'Favourable Futures' Klaas Groen and a writing workshop with theater maker, cultural entrepreneur and founder of 'Schrijven naar de Toekomst' Marilien Mogendorff.

#5.3 SUMMERFEST: Under the spell of DANCE
Featuring jazzy music by Eva & Marie, a dance performance by dance collective MAMM, a wide selection of digital short readings, a live performance by HipHop act Hessel du Mark, a sunny photobooth, good food and summer DJ beats by Radio Tempo Não Pára.

(Foto's: Lena Drukker)

#5.4 The Makeable Community 
With an introduction and short film by lecturer at the UvA's Literature and Cultural Analysis Department Aylin Kuryel, a workshop by artist Lot Benjamins, on community building in Amsterdam with Jasper Stoorvogel of De Academie van de Stad and the art project Blauwdruk by Moving Arts Project and Dynamo Amsterdam.

Exhibition Longing For Belonging at LAB111   
With artists Sondi, (Anke Rumohr 1994), Inês Queirós (1989), INSI (Yonah de Beer, 1996), Luna Brouwers (1998) and Marlien Peeters (1997).

(Foto's: LAB111)